Call or WhatsApp us at: +44-74034-13636

CBT - MediAngels Career Solutions

Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Test of Competence Part 1

The NMC Test of Competence Part 1 (as per Pearson VUE) is for the applicants trained outside the European Union and European Economic Area.


Since October 2014, nurses and midwives trained outside the European Economic Area who are seeking UK registration must pass the NMC test of competence. This test
consists of two parts and measures applicants against current pre-registration education standards. It assesses the essential professional knowledge, skills and attitudes required for safe and effective nursing or midwifery practice in the UK.

Nursing in the UK is made up of separate and distinct fields of practice, each requiring three years of pre-registration undergraduate education.

The distinct nursing fields of practice are:

• Adult nursing
• Children’s nursing
• Learning disabilities nursing
• Mental health nursing

In the UK, midwifery is a separate and distinct profession, requiring three years of pre-registration undergraduate education.

For More Information on CBT please check out NMC’s Candidate information booklet for the NMC Test of Competence

Overview of the test of competence

The test of competence is specific to the appropriate nursing field or midwifery and always consists of two parts. A test blue print is available on our website with links to online resources which will help applicants prepare for the test of competence. We do not endorse any course or training provider which may offer preparation materials for the test.

Part 1 is a computer based test (CBT).

The CBT is multiple choice and can be taken at a Pearson VUE test centre available in most countries around the world.
Candidates will be given a short tutorial on how to use the computer before starting the examination. The CBT comprises 120 multiple-choice questions. All questions are
scored as correct or incorrect and there is no partial credit. A small number of questions will not be scored as they are pre-test questions, these questions will not
be indicated to candidates.

A proportion of questions will be critical and relate to patient and public safety. Critical questions must be passed. The time limit for direct testing is four hours and this includes any breaks from testing, which are optional.

Part 2 is a nursing or midwifery objective structured clinical examination (OSCE) – a practical nursing or midwifery examination.

The OSCE can only be sat after successfully passing the CBT and is only available in the UK at a designated test centre. The candidate booklet and details for part 2 of the OSCE are available from the test centre website.

We will help you with your CBT too

Shopping Basket